2012 International Media Awards

The 2012 International Media Awards


The Next Century Foundation is pleased to announce the results of the Eighth annual International Media Awards.  The ceremony took place at the Oxford & Cambridge Club in London on Saturday 5th of May 2012.  Since their inception in 2005 the Awards continue to seek out and reward excellence in journalism. The International Media Awards are organised under the auspices of the International Council for Press and Broadcasting which was established by the Next Century Foundation in 2005. 

The Awards have historically focused on the Middle East, and this year they are particularly inspiring as they come at a time of momentous change sweeping across the region.  The Awards celebrate excellence and integrity in reporting and pay tribute to the skill, courage and determination of individual journalists when reporting from areas of conflict or political repression.   The ceremony is an important and special occasion where international foreign correspondents and journalists from across the region are brought together and recognised for their outstanding coverage of the Middle East.  A short film was shown in tribute to those journalists who were killed in the Middle East this year.


The winners are:


Peace Through Media Awardsrecognises the work of established media figures who have a positive impact on coverage.

Jeremy Bowen, BBC Middle East Editor;

Gideon Levy, Journalist and Editor of Haaretz Newspaper, Israel;

Mansoor Al Jamri, Editor of Al Wasat Newspaper, Bahrain


Cutting Edge Awardacknowledges the work of media professionals who have risen to prominence through the outstanding quality of their work and their balanced and considered coverage.

Paul Wood, BBC Middle East Correspondent


Lifetime Achievement Awardis presented to a figure who has had a long and distinguished career in the media, and who has worked tirelessly for the promotion of better understanding.

Roger Cohen, Columnist, New York Times and International Herald Tribune


Breakaway Award- encourages new talent, either in mainstream journalism or in the fields of internet news and citizen journalism.

Sherine Tadros, Presenter and Reporter, Al Jazeera English


Contribution to New Media Award

Hiwa Osman, Thoughts From Iraq Blog and columnist for Kurdish paper Rudaw


Outstanding Contribution to Journalism Award

Dame Ann Leslie, Senior Foreign Correspondent, Daily Mail


Outstanding Contribution to Peace Award 

Hillel Schenker and Ziad AbuZayyad, co-editors of the Palestine-Israel Journal



Please visit the Awards' website for videos and photos of the event: www.internationalmediaawards.org