Introduction to the International Media Awards

2013 marked the ninth year of the annual International Media Awards. Recent events have shown us not only the power of conventional mass media, but also the increasing ability of non-professionals to create positive political currents. The International Media Awards are a salute to the importance of both of these forces, designed to reinforce their impact through the promotion of accurate and responsible reportage. They bring together figures active in all forms of conventional and non-conventional media, and from all over the Middle East, a testament to the potential for peaceful dialogue in that region.

The Awards are divided into four categories.

The Peace Through Media Award, a recognition of the work of established media figures who have had an extremely positive and lasting impact on coverage of the Middle East. Past winners include Mr Jihad al Khazen of Al Hayat, Mr Danny Levi Rubinstein of Haaretz and Mr Michael Binyon of The Times.

The Cutting Edge Award is an acknowledgement of the work of media professionals who have recently risen to prominence through the outstanding quality of their work and their balanced and considered coverage. Past recipients include Mr Jack Hugi of Maariv, Mr. Robert Tait of The Observer and Ms. Mina al Oraibi of Sharq al Awsat.

The Breakaway Award encourages new talent, particularly in the fields of internet news and citizen journalism.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, for a figure who has had a long and distinguished career in the media, and who has during this time worked tirelessly for the promotion of better understanding.

The Next Century Foundation looks forward to many more years of the International Media Awards, and keenly anticipates the announcement of the 2012 Award winners. For photos and videos of the Awards, please visit the website